Department of Education Foundation and Psychology

Dr. Newton Asakhulu Mukolwe

Chairman of Department of Education Foundation and Psychology

The department of Education Foundations is one of the two departments under the School of Education. It houses the following common areas in education, including education foundation courses and education psychology courses for teacher training in bachelor of education. It also houses three programmes namely, Bachelor of Education (Arts or Science) with Guidance and Counseling, Bachelor of Education (Arts or Science) with Special Needs Education and Bachelor of Education in Early Childhood Education. The areas under foundation courses (such as History of Education) and psychology courses (such as Educational Psychology), and the programmes, are offered at diploma, bachelors, masters and PhD levels. Currently, the curricula for all these areas and programmes are being reviewed and developed to fit the modern demands of these programmes. These programmes are also offered in the University’s centres/campuses and collaborating collages. Currently, the department has got a total of eight (8) dedicated, committed and qualified teaching staff, with prospects of employing more staff in its expansion plans. In addition, the department hires qualified and competent adjunct lecturers to assist in teaching. As the university advances in its structures, the department will disintegrate to give rise to four (4) independent departments, that is, Education Foundations, Education Psychology, Special Needs Education and Early Childhood Education. The graduates from the department have evidently been good ambassadors for the department in particular, and the university at large, in the job market.